Spring Newsletter

 

New Guide and Virtual Training on Growing Organic Tomato Seed

Are you ready to gain skills to grow high-quality organic tomato seed for your own farm or to sell under a seed contract? Or maybe you want to brush up on your existing skills ahead of the tomato-growing season? OSA and our Tomato Organic Management and Improvement Project (TOMI) partners are offering two new resources to walk growers through the process with a new Tomato Seed Production Guide available for free download and a virtual training webinar on April 20th at 12p PT / 1p MT / 2p CT / 3p ET.

Understanding the Economics of Organic Seed Production

Organic seed production is a developing industry and viable economic opportunity for organic growers. While growing seed can be rewarding, turning a passion for seeds into a viable livelihood is a challenge that even experienced seed growers struggle to overcome. To help growers manage the uncertainties and risks inherent to seed production, and to help growers earn more profit, OSA published an online toolkit to assist organic seed growers and seed enterprises. The toolkit offers support in the form of budgeting spreadsheets, inventory management, and foundation and stock seed planning.

Are You Interested in Hosting a Seed Internship on Your Farm?

We're happy to announce some recent updates to the Organic Seed Producers Directory, specifically a function that helps connect interested seed interns with host farms. In addition to connecting organic seed producers looking to sell wholesale quantities of organic seed to potential buyers, this most recent update allows a seed producer to advertise in their profile a desire to host seed interns. If you already have a profile on the Organic Seed Producers Directory, please consider expanding your profile to include host farm information. And please help us spread the word to other potential host farms!

 

What else we're sowing

CA Seedheads: California Organic Seed Summit runs March 22–26

Bean Counters: New high-quality dry beans for organic growers

Get SeedLinked: OSA-curated dry bean and sunflower seed saving packets

Excluded Methods: NOSB to convene virtually in April

Zoom on the Hill: Coverage from the NOC virtual fly-in

 

Meet us in the field (or Zoom!)

7th Annual California Organic Seed Summit
March 22–26, 2021 | Zoom via Organic Seed Commons | Learn more

Growing Organic Tomato Seed: A Virtual How-To Training
April 20, 2021 | Zoom | Learn more

11th Organic Seed Growers Conference
February 9–12, 2022 | Zoom via Organic Seed Commons | Learn more


Seed is essential. And so is your support. Consider a tax-deductible gift to OSA.

Copyright © 2021 • Organic Seed Alliance • All rights reserved.

Organic Seed Alliances advances ethical seed solutions
to meet food and farming needs in a changing world

Our mailing address is:
Organic Seed Alliance
PO Box 772
Port Townsend, WA 98368
United States